top of page

2015 Starting A New Chapter

Message from the garden coordinator - Susan Berman:

I have enjoyed being the coordinator of the Perth Dupont Community Garden since 2006. I have watched the community garden land grow some magnificent plants - I have seen the gardening area grow into a very inviting space for the whole neighbourhood to come and visit - and I have seen the gardeners grow into stronger persons. From the outset of the garden, after I learned what is expected of a coordinator, I have endeavored to fulfill that roll. I am not the "boss" just someone that help facilitate the group so that they can grow food, can get along and have an opportunity to to grow themselves - weather it is improving their leadership skills or being more comfortable socializing in a group setting of various ages, languages, backgrounds or lifestyle.

However - it is time to pass on the torch - it is time for this community garden to start an new chapter. so, through a series of meeting with the Communications Team, and the rest of the garden group - we plan to take all the duties that I have taken care of and break them down into smaller capsules of tasks. so that the whole weight of the garden responsibilities of the coordinator will no longer rest on one person.


bottom of page